Loneliness and Rejection

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Truman
    PSTEC User

this is a major issue for me.

i've been doing PSTEC on a daily basis for 7 months and I still have lots of irrational fears related to being abandoned or left alone.

so, I project this a lot into relationships, I expect others to fulfill my needs to feel safe around them, I expect them to be there for me always, and if not, i get really upset, dissapointed and angry.

there's always the fear that they will leave me in the back of my mind.

I suspect this is because I had very narcissistic parents that used love and afection as a condition to make me do what they wanted me to do, instead of giving it away unconditionally.

Paul McCabe
      PSTEC Pro and Forum Moderator

Hi Truman,

Thanks for your post.

There is no question that different parenting styles can have a huge impact on how we perceive ourselves, other people and the world.

To that end, every single fear we experience is perfectly rational to our subconscious mind.

It all makes sense and the subconscious is just trying to help us. It is all part of a big pattern. We have so many patterns. Some work well for us (in that we feel good), while others do not (“bad feelings”, “unwanted behaviours” etc)

So, with this in mind, what beliefs seem to support the feelings and behaviours of being abandoned?

Really think this through and consider the core beliefs that contribute to the pattern.

“What would I have to believe about myself, relationships and people to feel and behave this way?”

There may well be beliefs like “I'm not OK”, “I'm not safe in this world”, “Relationships are scary”, “I'm alone”, “I'll be abandoned”, “Nobody loves the real me”, “I have to hide the real me to be accepted”, “Love is conditional”,  “Love is easily withdrawn”, “If I don't do it right, I'll be rejected” and “I am worthless”