Freezing during interview programming test

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    sb_in_ca
    PSTEC User

Hi all, I am a software developer seeking to get reemployed.

In the last couple of months, I've had two different live programming tests over Skype, where I had to code a solution to a programming challenge, live over Zoom or Skype.

It's kind of ridiculous, because both were relatively simple challenges, but I just freeze because I have an overwhelming amount of panick-y thoughtsand emotions.  (I have almost 20 experience too!)

Or I simply have obsessive fear-thoughts, that they are thinking I should not be typing that function, or doing this thing in that way,  as I type it alive in front of them. 

I'm thinking I should just do standard pstec on that feeling (?).
      If anyone else has used pstec for this type of situation, I'd be interested in hearing.

Paul McCabe
      PSTEC Pro and Forum Moderator

Hi Sb_in_ca,

Thanks for your post.

It sounds like you are experiencing a degree of performance anxiety, which shows up as a fear of making a mistake or being judged harshly by others. Of course, we might say that consciously a behaviour or thought makes no sense (and may feel embarrassed or uncomfortable about feeling or acting a certain way), but it will make sense on a subconscious level.

This pattern is perfectly common and can be resolved in quite a straightforward way.

In fact, as with many things, there will be more than one way to resolve this pattern. Your first instinct looks to be spot on and, indeed, the Click Tracks may be all you require.

You can simply run a CT on these type of scenarios and the feelings associated with them:

– being judged harshly
        – public performance
        – job interviews
        – tests/exams
        – criticism based on making mistakes