How hard should I hold onto the anxiety?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    LK
    PSTEC User

Hi all, registered mostly to ask this :)

I've been using pstec (mostly eefs and accelerators) for about 2 months for social anxiety stuff, mostly centered around going out & meeting women, but also for other areas like work situations and imagining myself perform (dance, sing) in front of crowds, etc. I think its working well and I've gotten a lot of benefit from it.

Now, I'm a bit unsure as to which of these 2 strategies I should take with the eef tracks:

1) Remember an event, or imagine one, with anxious feelings and the run the click track while holding onto both of these “loosely”.. like meditating while looking at a candle flame, I'm not really straining my eyes very hard, but I'm still holding my gaze there in a relaxed manner.

OR

2) Really imagine myself there living the (imagined) event and focus hard on the anxious, constricting feelings and try to feel then as fully as I can. For example in a night club, I'd imagine myself walking around and then as those feelings become less intense, I'd vividly imagine myself doing something more& more challenging, progressing to stuff like dancing on a podium in front of the whole crowd, looking at people in the eyes while actively trying to raise their energy levels on the dance floor, or joking with groups of girls from a distance so that everyone can clearly hear me, being the center of attention in daytime settings, etc. Another way I did this was I repeated “I'm always completely relaxed & enjoy being the center of attention” at times to myself while running the click tracks & imagined myself TRYING to act like that in situations and feeling the anxiety that came with it.