Procrastination and cloudy mind

Forums General Discussions and Specific Issues Procrastination Procrastination and cloudy mind

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    elftower
    PSTEC User

Hi there,

Loving PSTEC and I was wondering how to apply it to this issue of mine…

I have been struggling with brain fog and inability to reason. I get mind blanks under pressure and I am suffering with intense procrastination when it comes to my work. At the moment I am a teacher and I find every reason to put off lesson planning; and when I do sit down to do it, I overthink and get freaked out about how I can't seem to follow or understand instructions online and I can't get a clear image of how it all works out.

This seemed to start when I got freaked out as a teenager cos I couldn't figure out the endings of films and I reasoned that that must make me stupid. This caused me anxiety. I wasn't like this as a youngster and I was wondering if there are any best practices for this issue with PSTEC.

Thank you all in advance 

Jeff Harding
      PSTEC Pro and Forum Moderator

Keep in the mind two main subjects…

Emotions and Beliefs.

Emotions…

* “mind blanks under pressure” … imagine this happening; how do you feel?  Rate it and CT it.  You imagine it happening and try hard to feel the unpleasant emotion.
        * “procrastination when it comes to my work” … imagine doing your work; how does that feel?  Rate it and CT it.
        * lesson planning; I overthink and get freaked out about how I can't seem to follow or understand instructions online and I can't get a clear image of how it all works out.”
        Again, imagine it, rate it; then CT it.

Now, as you do these imagine events, memories may come up.  If they do and they have negative feelings associated with them, CT each one.

* “seemed to start when I got freaked out as a teenager cos I couldn't figure out the endings of films caused me anxiety.”