PSTEC for social anxiety

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Jeff Harding
    PSTEC User

Hello everyone! I'm Anders and this is my first post on the forum:)

I'm new to PSTEC and have a few questions about if before starting out. I have had severe social anxiety for about three years now. My social anxiety messes up my life really bad. I'm anxious and uncomfortable around everyone. I have become estranged from everyone thats close to me.

I have tried many different types of therapy ( CBT, talk therapy, hypnoanalysis and EFT) to overcome my problem but with dissappointing results. They either did nothing or the effects didn't last. Therefore I have decided to try PSTEC and I'm hopeful that this technique will deliver when others didn't :).

#1 I'm from Norway and english is a secondary language for me. I have no problem understanding english but could this have a negative effect on the therapy?

#2 The EFT coach I had looked on social anxiety like this:
      -The sufferer got a limiting core belief from early childhood such as “I'm not good enough” or “There is something wrong with me”.
      -After that there was a specific traumatic event that triggered the social anxiety.
      -When the social anxiety bloomed out the sufferer experienced many emotional events that made the anxiety worse.
      -On top of that there are conscious and subconscious blocks that prevents the person to change.
      -All the above things need to be cleared and then the social anxiety is gone.

The problems for me with EFT was that I don't “feel my emotions” so it was hard for me to notice changes if they occured and that we couldn't find the events that triggered my social anxiety.

My question is; is it possible to get rid of the social anxiety symptoms with PSTEC without knowing what caused them? And is it necissary to be able to truly “feel” your emotions?