Writers Block

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Leanne
    PSTEC User

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to PsTEC, I've been using the basic tracks on and off for 2 months, but just bought a few packages to really get moving with it. I have an awful lot of childhood junk to clear up, particularly around the fear of never having money, which is a big one, but now I feel like my writing work is just stuck. I have the idea and the notes and the support of a coach but when I sit down to write I just choke up and end up wasting my day avoiding it.
      How can I use PsTEC for this? I don't know fully why I feel like this around writing, but I need it gone so I can work. Would a combination of PsTEC level one and PsTEC positive be the right way to go?

I appreciate any advice and support. Thanks, Leanne

Paul McCabe
      PSTEC Pro and Forum Moderator

Hi Leanne,

Thank you for posting.

Oftentimes, a pattern such as writer's block underlies other issues – beliefs, behaviours and emotions. It is a procrastination pattern, where you have developed an aversion to writing.

My first question would be: how do you KNOW you have writer's block? What would you write if you knew the words would just flow from you?

Do you find that you put anything else off?

When you “choke up”, what sort of feelings and thoughts go through your mind? What are you telling yourself?

Does anything come to mind about yourself when you do not complete a writing assignment? I have no doubt that some self-esteem beliefs are propping up the pattern.

The pattern itself can be resolved very straightforwardly.

When you are running the tracks, I would recommend bringing up those memories and imagined scenarios of trying to write. Bring up the “stuck” feelings. Rate them from 0-10. Keep clicking until you get the rating as close to a 0 as possible.